1

You have the choice to erase one incident from your past, as though it never happened. What would you erase and why?

I don’t believe in regrets. Well, I do believe there is such a thing. I just don’t believe in allowing myself to feel it. Or maybe I should use the word “allow”…

Let’s start afresh.

What would I erase if I had the chance? Nothing.

It’s funny because I’ve thought long and hard about this a couple of times. Months ago, I would have probably written a book on things I would like to erase from my past and some pretty solid reasons why those things need(ed) to not have happened. But now, all that’s changed and I like to think I’m learning to see my life in a whole new light.

Everything happens for a reason. Every single thing. I honestly and truly believe so.

Getting to this point, quite honestly, has been a really incredible journey for me. Sometimes, I would just sit and ask myself what the reason for some of the shit I was going through could be and just be completely and utterly depressed and mad at the world. But that was until I made a decision to stop wallowing in misery and self-pity.
Life is full of a lot of crap and t will throw its absolute worst at you.

Slowly but surely, I’m learning that every challenge I face is a preparation for my testimony. You can’t ace an exam you don’t write, right? I mean, you can’t sign up for a relay race and be awarded the first place ribbon without even leaving the start line.

Wait. I feel like I’m derailing.

We’re talking about regrets, right?

Well, like I said. I’ve taken a pretty good look at some of the stuff I would have liked to erase in my past and come to realize I really wouldn’t have them not happen.  Have you ever come across Romans 8:28?

“And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”

I used to have a difficult time with this verse until I realized I was looking at it from the wrong POV. It doesn’t just mean that all good things will happen to you all the time and so when bad things happen, then something is wrong.

This is why I love the amplified bible. Look what it says:

“We are assured and know that [God being a partner in their labor]all things work together and are [fitting into a plan] for good to and for those who love God and are called according to [His] design and purpose.”

I mean seriously. I’ve meditated on this constantly, and it has helped me realize that where I am now is as a direct result of every decision I have ever made. Not just the good or the bad, but a combination of it all. I may not be where I would like to be but I’m actually at a pretty good place in my life right now and obviously heading towards something much greater.

Thinking about which incidents in my life I would like to erase actually gives me cause to worry now because:

1) How certain am I that the one thing I erase will make things better? If I’m going to erase something from my past, it has to be because it will positively change my present situation Why bother if it’ll only make things worse r just have no effect at all?
2) I’ve said where I am now is as a result of every decision I have ever made. I worry that if I change single thing, I may lose the one thing in my whole life that I am fully confident I did right, and that’s not a risk I’m ready to take.

I’m teaching myself to look to the future with the help and strength of the Lord, and I’m done worrying about the past – stressing about things I should have or shouldn’t have done. Mistakes happen so we can take the lessons and move on. I read somewhere that as soon as you realize your past has no power over you, you are free. I don’t remember if those are the exact words, but it was some really deep shit and it made me nod my head in deep thought and appreciation. Like, I’m talking about those slow-mo nods.Yeah.

Anyway, that’s just me and everyone is different, yeah? If you feel like there’s something in your past you would like to erase and you’re in the mood to share, leave a comment below or not. Either way,

Peace, Love & Ribena

oxcecexo

Leave a Reply

