When I Say I Love You

When I say that I love you

I’m not just speaking words

I am saying I will go through the unimaginable for you

With you

Hold you up when you can’t quite catch yourself

Help you face your fears

Support your ideas

Your dreams

Because they aren’t just yours anymore

They’re mine too

 

When I say that I love you

I am giving you all of me

A little too much perhaps

But this is because I trust you

I trust that I can be myself around you

Weak, open, vulnerable

I trust you not to turn away

I trust you to do the same

 

When I say that I love you

I’m saying I will be your stronghold

I will cry when you cry and laugh when you do

I will help you build the empire you dream of

Show you the greatness I see in you

Because you are my star

And you need to know that you deserve to shine

 

When I say that I love you

I’m asking you to believe in me

To let me in

To trust me

To care about me

My hopes, my dreams

To be here

To never hurt me

At least not intentionally

I’m asking you to be the reason why I smile

To share my joy and my pain

To be my star

I’m begging you to love me

 

When I say that I love you

Sometimes

It’s like you don’t hear me at all

One thought on “When I Say I Love You

Leave a Reply

